If a driver receives a non-criminal moving violation and does not have a commercial driver license, they may elect to attend a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) 4-hour course, from a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) approved traffic school, once every 12-months or a total of five times within their lifetime.
Drivers must voluntarily elect to attend a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course within 30-days of the traffic citation. If an election is not made, their right to elect the school completion option is forfeited and points are assessed to driver license record for a 3-year period.
Within the 30-day window, the driver must pay the fine and fees for the traffic citation. Upon payment, drivers should also notify the Clerk of Court, in the county they received the traffic citation, if they are electing the school option to attend the Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course. If the fee is not paid within 30-days, their license will be suspended for failure to pay.
Drivers must complete the Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course within the court-required time period. If the court-required time is not met, their license will be suspended for failing to attend course.
Drivers must provide required proof of course completion and documentation of the paid fines and fees to the Clerk of Court. It is the driver’s responsibility to meet the court reporting requirements.
Drivers with a valid Florida driver license who have been convicted of the following offenses in Florida, or in another state, are required by Florida DHSMV to attend a Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course for the following offenses, to include:
- Failure to obey a traffic control signal
- Failure to obey a steady red light indicator
- Failure to stop for a stopped school bus
- Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC)
- Highway racing/Highway racing – Spectator
- Reckless driving